RSS Feed

Babycakes

I have a love/hate relationship with blogs.

On the one hand, I have to be grateful for the entertainment I’ve received from some pretty fantastic blogs. My favorite blogs have authors who are genuine, funny, and/or insightful, and somehow make you feel like you’re best friends with them – even if you’ve never met them before. I get sucked into their lives, their opinions, their advice. Ask James, my husband. I’ve been known to get lost in a blog for hours at a time if it only interests me.

On the other hand, I don’t like tooting my own horn or running my mouth off about something I know nothing about. In fact, I’m usually so terrified of saying something wrong that I won’t give my opinion about anything of importance unless I’m completely, absolutely, 100% sure that I’m right about it. So you could see how this aversion could keep me from writing a good blog, where (ideally?) you’re supposed to just go with the flow and talk about whatever.

Besides all this, I was also always that kid who enthusiastically started diaries every year or so… and then entirely forgot about them precisely three days, eight hours, and seven minutes later. Sooooo, yeah. Keeping up with a blog might be difficult.

So why am I even bothering to start one? Because of this cutie pie:

20110817-094418.jpg

And this yummy cake:

20110817-094619.jpg

Yep. That’s why. My most recent life development has been Mama to my adorable, lively, lovable Maciek (or Matthias, if you prefer the English version). This kid is so fantastic. Besides being stinkingly cute, he’s crazy strong and smart and develops a new skill every day (his latest is sticking his entire fist in his mouth. And be-drooling everything around him). Being able to stay at home to take care of him is awesome.

It can also be challenging and tiring at times, too. Here enters the cake. For many years now, I have LOVED baking. I don’t even remember how it started. I think it involved baking cookies for Christmas one year and things just sort of went from there. In fact, it’s one of the few hobbies that I ever picked up that I actually stuck with (yep, I was one of *those* kids, too). So ever since Maciek has been born, I’ve found relaxation in baking and otherwise creating yummy desserts. I quickly fell into a dessert-per-weekend pattern, and I started branching out into new, ambitious desserts.

And then I wanted to toot my own horn about them. And Maciek. And so we’ve come full circle.

I don’t pretend to know nearly anything about either baking or babies, so this should be an educational, cathartic experience. Let’s just hope it lasts longer than just over three days.

2 responses »

  1. Yay! I love food blogs! And the fact that little Maciej is part of it makes it even more awesome. I hope to meet the little (or not-so-little) guy someday!

    What kind of cake is that? It looks rather delicious. I really want to expand my library of things I can make over this year. I tried my hand at pie just yesterday with not too terrible results haha.

    And I’m happy to see Johanna’s suggestion made it into the blog haha.

    Reply
    • Thanks for reading my first post, Justin! That there cake was an Italian Cannoli Cake. It was a French vanilla cake with cinnamon/almond ricotta filling and mascarpone icing. I think if I made it again, I’d tweak it a little – like maybe put in a strawberry filling instead. The cake needed some pizzazz somewhere that I just wasn’t getting – but the icing was fantastic.

      I’ve done some pies in my day, but I haven’t tried my hand at fresh pie crust yet. Too lazy? Scared? I don’t know. Perhaps that will be one of my upcoming weekend activities. What kind of pie did you make?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

