RSS Feed

Frozen-y Goodness

Maciek, my mom, my mother-in-law, and I went shopping today. Sounds exciting, doesn’t it? Well, factor in 107-degree heat, a 3-month-old baby, and tax-free weekend and you’ll understand our tremendous undertaking. All in all, it was a pretty successful trip, considering the crowds of people pressing in on you and the heat O-pressing you (we went to an outdoor outlet mall thingy. Read: no walking around a huge, air-conditioned Wal-Mart, people. Everyone was walking into random stores just to inhale some cooler-by-35-degrees air before continuing on to their next real stop. And yes, I do enjoy writing incredibly long and rambly parentheses-asides.)

After checking out the necessary stores – Bath & Body Works and Carter’s for me these days – we took a seat outside a buzzing Starbucks with some cool drinks and a piece of coffee cake to split. And then, I saw THIS:

20110819-114902.jpg

Well, not exactly that. I saw a person eating an instance of that. But you get the point.

In any case, I got EXCITED. I’ve seen several ads and Groupons and whatnots for a place in Austin called Bananarchy which pretty much exclusively makes these wonders. Due to my laziness in heading anywhere too south of my neck of the woods, I’ve never actually tried them out, although I’ve dreamed of doing so for a while. So imagine my exhilaration when I found out that here, a mere 100 feet away from me, was the opportunity to taste a real-life frozen banana.

(I should point out here that both my mother-in-law and later James told me that they used to make these treats allll the time back in the day. Which completely makes sense. It’s not that complicated of a dessert after all. I guess I’m too easily caught up in good marketing so I was convinced that only big, smart companies can make stuff like this, not us lowly peons. Dur, me, it’s a frozen banana covered in chocolate and potentially a topping. Not that difficult. But this is all besides the point.)

So into the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory we went. And let me tell you, for a true choco-dessert-aholic like me, this is a dangerous place to be. My mom had to literally restrain me from buying a handful of $2 truffles to take home. I contented myself with my frozen banana (but MOM! They also had frozen, chocolate-covered cheesecake on a stick! How could that go wrong?!) and a key-lime caramel apple to take home to my hard-working breadwinner.

In the end, I have to say I was not as wowed by the frozen banana as I thought I would be. I think it’s because it was more difficult to bite into than I was expecting, so I ended up biting off chocolate, eating that separately, and then trying to simultaneously warm up and bite off pieces of banana (a difficult task). It got me thinking, however, about the brilliant, BRILLIANT idea of combining fruit and chocolate to begin with, with adding frozen-ness being the frosting on the cake (or fruit, I guess) for climates like ours. So I think I’ll have to fiddle with this amazing mix of fruity, chocolaty, frozen yumminess in a future post.

Not this weekend, though. I’ve already got plans for this weekend. Mwuhahahaha. Stay tuned for the first weekend dessert post!

One response »

  1. Can hardly wait to see the yummies you come up with! Maybe cut the fruit into smaller “bites” before freezing and dipping and sprinkling—–Just a thought đŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

