RSS Feed

Blue moon, you saw me cooking a meal

Cooking, my friends, does not equal baking. It just never will. I know there are people out there who absolutely love cooking and, honestly, kudos to them, but I just don’t see it. You’d think I’d be more flexible and understanding about the whole cooking thing seeing as how James and I are such foodies, but I’m just not. I’ve never really been a fan of cooking and I’ve never been all that great at it. I cook these days for the satisfaction of having a home-cooked meal and to not eat out too often, but if I’m going to be honest, it’s a bit of a chore. You have to find a recipe you like, go to the store for all the right ingredients, prepare everything, then cook it, then clean up after everything. Lather, rinse, repeat.

Yes, I do realize that baking requires all the same steps. But cooking you have to do if you’re going to eat, and you have to do it every day. Baking is a leisurely activity you can take on when you have the time and energy (or you have a blog to upkeep). Cooking provides you with an everyday necessity. Baking produces a scrumptious, extraordinary treat. Finally, cooking is ickier than baking. You tell me what you’d rather clean up after – measuring cups with traces of harmless sugar and flour and a yummy batter-laced bowl or raw-meat-juice-stained cutting boards and huge, threatening culinary knives?

To be completely fair, my clear preference of baking/dessert-making over cooking probably has to do with the fact that I just really like desserts. Again, food is awesome and really good food is really awesome, but you still eat food every day, several times a day. Dessert is special. So the creation of it is special, too.

Now, having said all of this, there comes along a day once every blue moon where I actually ENJOY cooking, and I’m happy to say today was one of those days. Perhaps it’s because the recipe was fairly simple. Perhaps it’s because the end result was actually quite scrumptious (I feel like with a new food recipe, you just never know if it’ll be any good. The pictures always look so appetizing, but the food doesn’t always follow through. I find this is rarely the case with desserts.). Perhaps it’s because I managed to whip up a homemade dinner with three different elements, all in about an hour. No matter. The important part is that today I actually enjoyed making dinner. And for somebody who usually dreads and agonizes over every cooking experience, I found this to be a nice change of pace (the fact that my wonderful, hard-working husband devoured everything I placed before him didn’t hurt either 😉 ).

But you lest you worry that this will suddenly become a foodie blog, um, don’t. I hear blue moons don’t happen all that often. Besides, the weekend’s coming up. And I plan on doing some *serious* baking.

3 responses »

  1. Christine Julien

    But what did you cook?!?

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens « Mark it with a G

Leave a Reply

