RSS Feed

Foodies rejoice!

Ok, get ready. This is going to be another one of those I-sound-like-I’m-hired-to-advertise-for-these-people-but-I-really-just-like-them-a-lot posts. Except in this case, I actually HAVE been asked if I work for this event or something because I’ve been so enthusiastic in my support of it. No, no. That’s just how I am when I get really excited about something. And so, without further ado, I am SUPER PUMPED about:

AUSTIN RESTAURANT WEEK.

Ok, so I’ve told you before that James and I are total foodies. We don’t really go out to eat at fancy restaurants, though, because they’re generally pretty pricy and toting along a lively four-month-old to these places is not necessarily the activity of choice either. But when ARW rolls around, WATCH. OUT. For those of you that don’t know, ARW is an event that occurs twice a year (and it’s not exactly a week – it’s two Sunday-Wednesdays in a row) during which Austin-area restaurants offer special fixed-price two- or three-course menus ranging between $10 and $35 depending on whether you go for lunch, brunch, or dinner.

Now, I don’t know why I get so excited about ARW, I really don’t. I mean, I could go to these restaurants any time I wanted to and order whatever I wanted without having to be kept to a specific menu during a specific time of year. I think it’s the awesomeness of being able to try out nicer restaurants at a decent price and with three courses to boot. James and I have found some of our favorite nice-night-out restaurants during ARW.

So all of this brings me to an important public service announcement. My pondering over when the next ARW was going to be led me to look it up online today – and, LUCKILY, I found out that ARW starts this Sunday! Joy! I’m so glad we didn’t miss it! ‘Twas dangerously close, I tell you. If I had pondered a week or two later, I could have missed precious restauranting time. So if you’re a foodie and you want to try out some awesome restaurants at a decent price, try out ARW, starting this Sunday. And no, I don’t work for ARW in any way, shape, or form. I just like me some good eats. 🙂

Leave a Reply

