RSS Feed

Nothing like shopping…

…in your own closet. Which, when you think about it, really is nothing like shopping. No lines, no crowds, no hassle, no 100-degree heat (yep, still got that going for us here), no spending money, and you’re bound to love almost everything you try on since you already loved it enough once to buy it.

I don’t know about you guys, but I’ve often surprised myself with discoveries in my own closet. This especially happens at the start of a new season. And by new season, I really mean the months of October- February since everything else in central Texas is simply summer. So I rarely forget what summer clothing I have since I wear it 7 months out of the year. Moving on…

THIS year I was really excited to discover in my closet (well, not exactly – I just remembered I had them) my beautiful gray boots. Honestly, I must have had a temporary lapse in sanity to forget I had these because I wore them practically every day last season (remember, we’ve been in the same season since March). I LOVE my boots! At least as much as you can love inanimate objects, which is to say I genuinely appreciate their comfort, style, and general trendy factor. In any case, the rediscovery of these boots has geared me up to do an overhaul of my closet – you’re welcome, James! – and see what else I have to discover that’ll keep me from having to buy new not-summer clothes (you’re welcome, James!). Although this year will be a little bit different because last year I wore primarily maternity clothes, so goodness knows I have NO idea what I even own, pre-maternity, not-summer-wise… Mayhaps I’ll have to go shopping outside of my closet after all? 🙂

Other thoughts today:

1) I beat the Internet problem. Boo-yeah, Internet! I win. On a related note, AT&T is silly. But at least we get cheap DSL from them.

2) I suffered through my baby boy’s first cold these past couple of days. So sad. 😦 Poor kiddo had one really tough night because he couldn’t breathe when he laid down. Otherwise, though, he really took the whole being-sick thing like a champ. You honestly could barely tell he was under the weather except for the copious amounts of snot and boogers coming out of his nose (we moms live a glamorous life, let me tell you. And it’s all worth it.).
2a) Baby boy has apparently also learned how to sleep! (What is that you say? He already learned how to sleep? Ha! You don’t know jack. Or I guess Maciek in this case.) I should say rather that we learned how to PUT him to sleep better. Turns out kiddo likes a pillow. And don’t you militant mommas out there worry – he’s way past peak-risk SIDS age, and he’s super strong so he can move away if something gets in his face. And now he actually sleeps! YAY!

3) I’m hoping to do something CRAZY tomorrow. As I explained to my loving husband, it’s my way of showing that I’m still a young person who occasionally does spontaneous things in between the runny noses and diaper changes. I won’t tell you what this CRAZY thing is unless it pans out. If I succeed, I’ll get a pretty fantastic reward. But if I don’t, I don’t want to suffer the shame of having told you my plan and then failing. Or something. In any case, if it works out, I’ll let you know, and if it doesn’t, we shall never speak of this again. Probably.

Phew, that’s it for now. I’ve gotta dash off to… chill out. Maciek’s still asleep!

3 responses »

  1. Very nice update….and WHY are you teasing us with the suspense?! Guess I’ll find out sooner (or later 🙂

    Reply
  2. BUT I NEEEEED TO KNOWWWWWW

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Good News, Bad News « Mark it with a G

Leave a Reply

