RSS Feed

Oh, sheet cake!

Alrighty everyone, sorry for the delay, but I give you last weekend’s dessert:

Texas Sheet Cake, in honor of the Texas-Oklahoma game (but let’s not talk about that).

According to the cookbook, no one really knows why this cake is associated with Texas. It is topped with pecans, which are pretty Texas-y I suppose, but the cookbook also suggests using different toppings; so much for the pecans “Texas-ifying” this cake.

In any case, this was a super-easy, simple, quick, delicious cake (I sense a pattern with my baking – I’m either making something overly complicated or ridiculously easy. I like it.). In fact, I started it at half-time and we were eating it by the time the game was over. Not bad for a whole cake.

The cake was a simple chocolate-cake batter topped with toasted pecans and a chocolate glaze. I forgot to take pictures of the whole cake since we dug into it pretty quickly, but here’s a slice accompanied by a glass of cold milk:

Nothing like chocolate and milk.

All forked up and ready to go!

I'm ready for my close-up.

Chocolate-y.

Yum. Because this cake is so simple, I imagine that variations of the basic recipe would be pretty easy and interesting, beyond just using different toppings.

That’s it for this week’s dessert. But I have a question for all of you – would including recipes for the weekly desserts be of use to anyone? I thought I’d run that idea by you to see what you thought. ‘Til next time!

4 responses »

  1. Yes, it would be very helpful to add the recipes!!!

    Reply
  2. Yes. Not that I would make them on my own. But I would encourage roommates to do so, and I would assist.

    Reply
  3. YES! Recipes are a good thing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

