RSS Feed

Good ol’ CCCs

This past week has been, ahem, different at the Goertz household. That subject matter will be saved for a different post, but I’m just trying to come up with an excuse as to why I haven’t written in a while. Did it work?

Anywho, this past weekend’s dessert has to be one of the most well-known and well-loved desserts in this here country. Bring it to a potluck and all of it will disappear. Serve it at parties for both adults and kids and everyone will be happy. Feel free to eat as many as you want yourself, but be sure to keep a big glass of milk nearby (unless you’re my husband, who doesn’t like milk at all. What?!).

But as quintessential as this dessert is, I’m often dissatisfied with the specimens I find. They’re either too hard, too crisp, or too crumbly. Being a soft-cookie person myself, it drives me crazy when I pick up a hard

Chocolate Chip Cookie.

That’s right friends, deliciously soft chocolate chip cookies were the dessert du jour, if you will, this past weekend. Although this blog and its accompanying baking/dessert-making is meant to be a kind of culinary-education endeavor, sometimes you just have to fall back on an old favorite. Besides, this past weekend was my sister-in-law’s birthday, and I wanted to make her a dessert that she would like (I think she’s not always a fan of my fancy fancies!) so I looked to an old standby and made chocolate chip cookies (hope you liked ’em, Olivia!).

The recipe I use yields soft, chewy, delicious chocolate chip cookies. The secret ingredient is – are you ready for it? – a box of instant vanilla pudding! I know, sounds weird. When I first saw it in the ingredients list, I didn’t know if I was going to have to make the pudding before putting it in the batter or whether the cookies would be all powdery and vanilla-y or what, but I decided to go for it. Turns out it makes all the difference!

Here’s pictorial proof of last weekend’s dessert:

Only two and a half?!

Mmm, cookies.

Don't forget the glass of milk!

Droolworthy.

And here, by popular request from last weekend’s post, is the recipe. Just don’t skip the pudding!

2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 (3.4 ounce) package instant vanilla pudding mix
2 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Sift together the flour and baking soda, set aside.
– In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar. Beat in the instant pudding mix until blended. Stir in the eggs and vanilla. Blend in the flour mixture. Finally, stir in the chocolate chips and nuts. Drop cookies by rounded spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.
– Bake for 10 to 12 minutes in the preheated oven. Edges should be golden brown.
Makes 3 dozen.

Recipe was taken from allrecipes and altered to include the suggestions of the highest-rated review. Also note that my recipe is scaled to half of what is shown on the allrecipes site.

Since I’m including the recipes now, if you end up making any of these desserts, please let me know! I’d love to know how they turned out. 🙂

4 responses »

  1. WoW! Got to try this one! And if you want to try my mother-in-law’s secret ingredient—which is another unusual ingredient—it changes the taste up just enough that you can’t stop eating them :-). The ingredient is …..1 Tablespoon liquid….COFFEE! You dissolve the baking soda in warm, liquid coffee then add to the recipe. Maybe for your quantity it would be 2 Tablespoons. Happy Cookies!

    Reply
    • That sounds delicious! I’ll definitely have to try that some time, especially since I do occasionally enjoy a cup of coffee. 🙂 Nothing better than coffee and cookies!

      Reply
  2. Pudding? Really?? I too am very much a soft cookie person and am never sure how to get them to come out right! I’ll definitely have to try these!

    Also, I definitely made snicker-chip-doodle cookies yesterday! Snickerdoodles with chocolate chips! highly recommend! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

